Behind the Blades: Chelsey Goldberg

Week 3 of Behind the Blades brings in Chelsey Goldberg, a 3 year CWHL and Blades veteran. Read on to learn more about her off-ice favorites and favorite career moment.

Name: Chels Goldberg

Hometown/Current town: Agoura Hills, CA / Boston, MA

Position: Forward

Current job: Personal Trainer

NCAA team: Northeastern University

Social media:

Twitter: chelly_bean24

Instagram: chelly_bean24

General Questions 

What CWHL team do you look forward to playing the most?

I look forward to every game because each team has their own strengths with some of the best female hockey players in the world, and it makes it more fun playing against that kind of competition.

Who has had the most influence on your career?

Family and friends.

If you were stranded on a deserted island with one teammate, who would you want to be with?

Nicole Giannino, simply because she makes light out of any situation, and I know we’d have a good time being deserted on an island.

If you could vacation anywhere in the world, where would you go?

Anywhere with a nice beach and warm water to go with it.

If you had to play a sport besides hockey, which would you play?

I would be a swimmer or a lacrosse player.

What hobbies/things do you like to do in your free time?

Love hanging with friends, listening to music, working out, snowboarding, going on adventures.

Does pineapple belong on pizza?

Not my cup of tea, no.

Is a hot dog a sandwich?

A hot dog is a hot dog.

Favorites 

Favorite pregame meal:

Keep it simple with a bagel and peanut butter and a coffee on the side.

Favorite sport besides hockey:

Lacrosse/Swim.

Favorite moment from your career:

Winning two Beanpot Championships at Northeastern University.

Current favorite song:

Drunk Me by Mitchell Tenpenny.

Favorite player to watch growing up:

Michael Cammalleri

Favorite professional sports team:

Los Angeles Kings or LA Dodgers

Favorite quote:

“Go confidently in the direction of your dreams! Live the life you’ve imagined.” – Henry David Thoreau.

Favorite movie:

You don’t want to watch a movie with me, I get bored and ask too many questions.

Favorite TV show:

Bachelor/Food Network

Favorite pizza toppings:

BBQ chicken or cheese.

Favorite season:

Summer.

Photo by Mimi Murad

This or That?

Cats or Dogs?

Dogs.

Coffee or Tea?

Coffee. 

Bagels or Toast?

Bagels.

Instagram or Twitter?

Depends for what, cause both are great.

Pasta or pizza?

Pizza.

Morning or night?

Night.

Pancakes or waffles?

Waffles.

Fun facts

  1. I’ve broken both legs playing hockey and was out for four years.
  2. I have a twin brother, who also lives in Boston. 

Piece of Advice

What advice do you have for young girls that want to become professional hockey players some day?

Dream big, never give up, but most importantly make sure you’re having fun playing the game that you love!